6alabat email spamming their customers

Last week just before the P2BK forum, I was surprised to receive 3 email spams. One for P2BK, and two others for elections. I am usually very careful where I put my email, so my best guess is one of the online sites in Kuwait I deal with is selling my email.

Today, I got this rudely and clearly email spam from 6alabt.com:

6alabat email spamming

Clearly as the title says, United Networks ad coming from 6alabt.com. I usually wait to resolve the matter with the company, but this is outrageous and cannot be explained. Funny thing is I was standing at their booth last week discussing their business. They’re doing pretty good, making thousands of KD per month. But it seems nothing is good enough for them so they chose to make money out of our emails. My simple reply to them was “Why are you sending us spam email please?”

Well thanks a lot 6alabt. Now I’m neither ordering from you nor coming near United Networks. I think we should gather to build a list of Kuwait spammers to protect users from them.

Popularity: 6% [?]

Most Popular Posts:

Did you enjoy this post? Why not leave a comment below and continue the conversation, or subscribe to my feed and get articles like this delivered automatically to your feed reader.

Comments

6ayyeb mo 3ady?! I mean, that’s the best way they can market their campaign and although it’s annoying bas not that much :p

chikapappi: Not at all. For not being a spam there are two rules:

1- The user must opt-in to receive those ads
2- The user must have the option to opt out

Neither of the two exist in that case. I just gave them my email to make the orders. It makes no sense for them to use it for spamming me with unrelated ads. Imagine if every site you use will send you email spam? Every blogger taking those emails and spamming them.

Spamming in developed country is a serious crime. And it should be.

Selling emails without the consent of the user is outrageous and bad for business. I do agree with you, and United Networks is the worst with zero ethics..

Marzouq: I haven’t dealt with United Networks in person, heard enough bad things about them. But this is mainly 6alabat mistake here. They technically didn’t sell our emails, but used them as a service for others!

I received spam from P2BK too .. they wanted me to post about their event. It was addressed to a different blogger and the first paragraph had nothing to do with me (‘congratulating you on this nice and actively updated blogspot of yours’).

If you want me to write a post about your event .. at least get my name right.

K.TheKuwaiti:

Hmm, it seems they have list of famous bloggers and sending them mass emails. Got yours wrong.

It’s just starting now in Kuwait. A friend of mine received an email sometime back for KFH ad, below was details for sending such ads. Calling the number for details the guy said YES, I have 300,000 valid email accounts in Kuwait, and he charges few hundreds for just sending your ad to them!

Strange thing is, those people dont think they want to win the hears of people they are spamming?

You know there’s a bright side to spam *Blinking*

Plus this was a shared ad between 6alabat and united networks. right, ya3ni its for 6alabat shared e3lan its not exaclty considered spam. ;p-

skinnybumblebee: No not really. It was an image of pizza coming from oven, but thats as close as it gets to 6alabt. I looked at it, no 6alabt.com related thing. All names and numbers relate to United Networks. So it is spam. Also, there is no opt-out option. Maybe I dont want to receive ads, just make orders.

Bashar,

I received the same email (which ended up in my spam folder :D).

But I checked the sender, it says 6alabat.net, whereas the ordering site is 6alabat.com. The former is a parked site, so the two might not be related?

I simply replied with FUCK YOU hehehe

6alabat.com sucks major ass

Haider: well, you’re right here. But a whois on both reveals they are the same owner, Khalid Al-Otaibi:
whois 6alabat.com
whois 6alabat.net

So the words hold.

there are spammers with webcrawling programs that search for email addresses… I also think some companies will buy email addresses from professional “harvesters”!

It sucks!

Ansam: Yeah I know. Luckily, I do not publish my email in plain text usually. 6alabt is not selling the email, but selling the service of spamming those emails.

[...] I was really surprised to see this “Signup Now. Your information will be confidential” box as I was browsing the 6alabat.com page, as I still recall the day they sold us out for spam.  [...]

Leave a comment